Vicente Hernaiz comes close to victory in the Memorial Aitor Bugallo: second in Durango

News · 1 April, 2021

Durangoko Saria Nagusia / VI Memorial Aitor Bugallo
Durango – Durango (131,9 km)

The rider from Valladolid Vicente Hernaiz signed a new second position for the U23 structure of the Contador Foundation in this atypical start of the season. The Pucelan rider came close to winning the Memorial Aitor Bugallo in Durango after a great individual and collective performance of the team. In an intense and very tight sprint, the victory went to Iván Cobo, with Sergio Jiménez in third position.

A podium of great value that highlights the good line of work of the team. And a lesson in perseverance with Vicente’s stamp.

The first one already made an important selection in the group, with three riders from EOLO-KOMETA in front, but it was the last climb to the Alto de Goiuria that made the definitive sieve with less than ten kilometres to go. At the moment of truth Hernaiz was in front. Until then the race was marked by a couple of breakaway attempts that achieved some temporary stability and some crashes involving Alejandro Luna, Arnau Gilabert and Fernando Tercero without major consequences.

“On the last climb there were five of us, one rider from Essax, one from Eiser, one from Caja Laboral and two from Lizarte. When we got to the bottom, more people came from behind. People were keeping an eye on each other at that point. Towards the finish line I started the sprint quite early, almost as soon as I came out of the last corner. Finally, Ivan finished me off in the last few metres by very little. We were close. Let’s see if we can take the necessary step forward in the next races”, explains Hernaiz.

“The team rode phenomenally well from the first kilometre”, says Félix García Casas, who led the team in Durango due to the imminent commitments of the U23 team in Italy, where Rafa Díaz Justo is going to ride two races.

[📷 Félix García Casas (1, 3), Sociedad Ciclista Duranguesa (2)]

Related riders

Alejandro Luna Álvaro García Arnau Gilabert Fernando Tercero José Luis Medina Mario Vilches Vicente Hernaiz Yago Segovia

More news

Eolo Kometa
Fritz Retelit Gobik Skoda
Elmec Kratos Kask Koo Dmt Oliva Nova
Vittoria Enve Rotor Montane Premium madrid Sportlast Look Training Peaks Jonh Smith Prologo Morganblue Bend36 Velotoze Valtellina Scicon La casa del fisio Technogym