The almost centenary Loinatz Proba de Beasain and the Vuelta a Zamora, imminent competitions of the Kometa Cycling Team U23

News · 6 July, 2019

7 July: XCII Loinatz Proba (144.7 km)
From 9 to 13 July: XXXVI Vuelta Ciclista a Zamora

After an intense cycle of stage races that culminated in nothing less than the Giro Baby, and after the ‘standstill’ derived from the National Championships, the competitive activity of the Kometa Cycling Team under 23 led by Rafa Díaz Justo returns with a double commitment barely separated by one day, first a one-day test in the Basque Country and then one of the most traditional stage race of the national panorama on Castilian-Leon soil. The Loinatz Proba, one hand, and the Vuelta Ciclista a Zamora, on the other hand, will see the riders of the under23 team of the Alberto Contador Foundation in the next few days. Joan Martí Bennassar, Alejandro Regueiro, Alejadro Ropero and Yago Segovia will be the four cyclists present in both.

First, on Sunday, there is a new edition of Beasain’s Loinatz Proba, one of the most traditional races in the calendar. On the way to its centenary, the race in Gipuzkoa presents a certainly demanding route in its 144.7 kilometres. The climbs to Mandubia and Olaberria within the last 25 kilometres, with the summit of Olaberria 6.5 km from the finish line, will be decisive; even more so after having previously faced Abaltzizketa on two occasions (km 23, km 73), Liernia (km 102.9) and for the first time Olaberria (km 110.9).

Joan Martí Bennassar, the Italian Alessandro Fancellu, Álex Martín, the Colombian Jhon Stiven Ramírez, Alejandro Regueiro, Alejandro Ropero and Yago Segovia make up the team that will take the start on the Avenida de Navarra in Beasain. “We have recharged our batteries and there is more desire than ever to do things well”, proclaims the Granadino Ropero about what will be his return to the roads with the colours of the Foundation after a cycle without competitions.

Just one day later, in an eminently evening race in its dispute, the Vuelta Ciclista a Zamora will start with a team time trial, one of the few events that continues to be disputed over five stages. The Zamorana round provided very good moments for the U23 structure of the Alberto Contador Foundation last year by the hand of José Antonio García, double stage winner. The Italian Alessio Acco and Arturo Grávalos, new national runner-up on the road, join a team completed by Bennasar, Regueiro, Ropero and Segovia.

Beyond the squad timekeeping on Tuesday, and the race situations that can bring the action of the wind or condition the foreseeable high temperatures, the queen stage will be disputed on Friday. The arrival to As Hedradas, with a route that also jumps to the neighbouring Ourense and includes a terrain of great hardness, will be decisive for the resolution of the general one.

The stages.
9th July: Rebellinos – Villalba de la Lampreana (21,7 TTT).
10th July: Muga de Sayago – Cabañas de Sayago (141 km).
11 July: San Mamed – Rabanales (133 km).
12 July: Muela de Caballeros – As Hedradas (134.4 km).
13th July: Moraleja del Vino – Zamora (122.5 km).

(automatic translation, sorry for mistakes)

Related riders

Joan Martí Bennassar Alessandro Fancellu Alejandro Regueiro Alejandro Ropero Alessio Acco Álex Martín Yago Segovia Arturo Grávalos Jhon Stiven Ramírez

More news

Trek Uvet openjobmetis Valtellina Gobik Rotor Skoda
Koo Enervit Vittoria Elmec Kask Oliva Nova Look Premiummadrid Tacx Sportlast Jonh Smith Scicon Bend36 Training Peaks Kaph Navali Princesa Eboli Gaerne